Four Trailblazers named to MASCAC Winter All Academic Team

Four Trailblazers named to MASCAC Winter All Academic Team

2018 MASCAC Winter All Academic Team

Westfield, MA — A total of 415 student-athletes have been honored by the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference with selection to the league's Winter 2018 All-Academic Team that was released earlier today by Commissioner Angela Baumann.  MCLA had four students represented from their respective basketball programs.

Adam Conquest was the lone recipient from Men's Basketball while three student-athletes were selected from the women's team.  Mckenzie Robinson, L'Rae Brundige, and Courtney Pingelski were each named to the team.

Student-athletes that compete in championship varsity sports offered by each of the MASCAC institutions during the course of the Winter 2018 athletic season and have achieved a 3.20 cumulative or semester-based grade point average during the semester are eligible for selection to the Winter AllAcademic Team.

Westfield State University placed the most student-athletes on the Winter 2018 MASCAC All-Academic Team with 101 total, while Worcester State University is second with 84, Bridgewater State University is close behind in third with 83, Fitchburg State University is fourth with 56 and Salem State University is fifth with 39 student-athletes on the team.

"I want to applaud all of the student-athletes who were named to the MASCAC Winter 2018 All-Academic team," Commissioner Baumann said. "Success in the classroom is as important as success on the playing field and our student-athletes exemplify that as shown by the number of them on this team."

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation's oldest Division III men's and women's playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom. MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University. Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of football and men's ice hockey, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as a football affiliate member in 2013.


Adam Conquest (Gardner, MA/Gardner)- Men's Basketball, Sr., Psychology
L'Rae Brundige (Schaghticoke, NY/Hoosic Valley)- Women's Basketball, Jr., IDST
Courtney Pingelski (Mechanicville, NY/Mechanicville)- Women's Basketball, Jr., Health Sciences
Mckenzie Robinson (Adams, MA/Hoosac Valley)- Women's Basketball, Jr., IDST