Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Richardson, Castro take home top honors at MCLA Athletics Banquet

Richardson, Castro take home top honors at MCLA Athletics Banquet

Photo Album

North Adams, MA- Over 160 student athletes and their respective programs were on hand last night as MCLA celebrated the 2017-2018 year in athletics with their annual banquet held in the Amsler Campus Center Gym.  In total, thirteen MVP's, the prestigious Sue Getchell and Louis Parisien awards, and many more were presented to deserving student-athletes.

Megan Richardson of Women's Soccer took home the coveted Sue Getchell award, which is given annually to the top female scholar athlete.  Oscar Castro of the Men's Soccer program received the Louis Parisien award, given annually to the top male scholar athlete.

The night began with with academic awards.  Over the 2017-2018 academic year, greater than 50% of MCLA athletes earned over a 3.0 GPA.  Twenty one student-athletes were named to Chi Alpha Sigma while Nick DiSanti (Baseball) and Bri O'Rourke (Volleyball) took home the top GPA honors.

From there, each program named their respective MVP's (listed below) and the night shifted to honor the 40 plus seniors within the Athletics department.

Athletes of the year were then named for respective under and upperclassmen.  In some tight battles, Kaylyn Holliday (Soccer/Softball) and Logan Rumbolt (Baseball) received the underclassmen awards.  The upper class awards for top athlete went to Mariza Sfakianaki (Women's Tennis) and Liam Nolan (Baseball).

The banquet culminated with the presentation of the Getchell and Parisien awards.  Richardson was an all conference first team selection for head coach Deb Raber and led the conference in saves.  She continues to be a strong student and is also the president of the Student Athlete Advisory Committee.  

Castro was also an All MASCAC selection while also earning the United Soccer Coaches Scholar All East Region nod.  Castro has been a great student during his time in North Adams and just recently earned a pair of student affairs honors at their banquet last week.

Here is the complete list of award winners from last night:

Chi Alpha Sigma Members:

Fran Belli, Breanna Castor, Kaitlyn Berghela, Megan Richardson, Tessa Sestito, Corey Powers, Jordan DeGaetano, Samantha Schwantner, Khalil Kareh, Katie Mancini, Lauren Mangiardi, Molly Gurner, Celine Manigbas, Joshua Richards, Nevada Nelsen, Rachel Green, Bri O'Rourke, Kaitlyn Wright, Brittany Whitford, Nick Disanti, Oscar Castro

Top Individual GPA's

Nick Disanti (Baseball) and Bri O'Rourke (Volleball)

Team MVP's

Megan Richardson (Women's Soccer)
Reese Dwyer (Golf)
Mariza Sfakianaki (Women's Tennis)
Julie Gambill (Women's Cross Country)
Jeremiah Jones (Men's Cross Country)
Mele Enomoto (Volleyball)
Adam Conquest (Men's Basketball)
Emily Moulton (Women's Basketball)
Mackenzie Cutler (Lacrosse)
Romeo Grey (Men's Soccer)
Aaron Goldsmith (Men's Tennis)
Kara Adams (Softball)
Liam Nolan (Baseball)

Top Underclass Athletes

Kaylyn Holliday (Women's Soccer/Softball)
Logan Rumbolt (Baseball)

Top Upperclass Athletes

Mariza Sfakianaki (Women's Tennis)
Liam Nolan (Baseball)

Twitter Poll winners

Best Performance- Noah Yearsley (Men's Basketball), MASCAC semifinal vs BSU
Best Moment- Mele Enomoto (Volleyball), collects 1,000th dig vs. Williams

Sue Getchell Award- Top Female Scholar Athlete

Megan Richardson (Women's Soccer)

Louis Parisien Award- Top Male Scholar Athlete

Oscar Castro (Men's Soccer)