Richardson, Seariac take home top honors as Athletics holds annual awards banquet

Richardson, Seariac take home top honors as Athletics holds annual awards banquet

Banquet Photos

North Adams, MA- The MCLA Athletics department held their annual awards banquet Tuesday night inside the Amsler Campus Center Gym.  The night was capped off when Megan Richardson (Women's Soccer) and Christian Seariac (Baseball) took home the top honors.  Richardson was awarded the Sue Getchell award.  The award is given annually to the top female scholar athlete during the academic year.  Seariac was awarded the Louis Parisien Award, given to the top upper class male scholar athlete.

Richardson had an outstanding season for head coach Deb Raber.  She was named the MASCAC defensive player of the year and was a first team all MASCAC selection.  She stopped 20 shots in a game against Bridgewater State and recorded many saves of the highlight variety.

Seariac continues to improve on the diamond.  He led the Baseball team in average, hits, and RBI's and was the unquestioned leader of the Trailblazers.

The evening kicked off with the academic awards and the induction to Chi Alpha Sigma.  Students with a 3.4 GPA who have achieved junior status are eligible.  The entire list is below.  MCLA awarded Khalil Kareh (Men's Soccer) and Kaitlyn Berghela (Softball) the highest GPA awards respectively.

Each program handed out their MVP's and the department then awarded athletes of the year.  The night concluded with the presentation of the Getchell and Parisien Awards.

Here is the complete list of award winners:

Highest GPA
Khalil Kareh- Men's Soccer
Kaitlyn Berghela- Softball

Chi Alpha Sigma- 1st Year
Christian Seariac
Kara Adams
Ben Durland
Kim Granito
Hannah Sorensen
Owen Fitzgerald
Nate Wojtaszek
Brianna Morris
Sara LaFreniere
Karina Mattera

Chi Alpha Sigma- 2nd Year
Tessa Sestito
Khalil Kareh
Celine Manigbas
Breanna Castor
Corey Powers
Lauren Mangiardi
Nevada Nelsen
Megan Richardson
Samantha Schwantner
Kate Mancini
Kaitlyn Berghela

Most Valuable Players
Colin Rousseau- Men's Soccer
Hannah Van De Water- Women's Soccer
Reese Dwyer- Golf
Julie Gambill- Women's Cross Country
Corey Powers- Men's Cross Country
Sara LaFreniere- Volleyball
Mckenzie Robinson- Women's Basketball
Mike Demartinis- Men's Basketball
Sam Gawron- Women's Tennis
Cal Najimy- Men's Tennis
Kim Granito- Women's Lacrosse
Kaitlyn Berghela- Softball
Bobby New- Baseball

Top Underclass Athletes
Cetera Moore- Women's Soccer
Mike Demartinis- Men's Basketball

Top Upperclass Athletes
Kaitlyn Berghela- Softball
Bobby New- Baseball

Sue Getchell Award
Megan Richardson- Women's Soccer

Louis Parisien Award
Christian Seariac- Baseball