Six Trailblazers named to MASCAC Sportsmanship teams

Six Trailblazers named to MASCAC Sportsmanship teams

WESTFIELD, Mass. – 56 Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) student-athletes have been recognized for their outstanding sportsmanship as members of the 2019 Fall Sportsmanship Team.

The MASCAC Sportsmanship Team is intended to recognize one student-athlete from each team, in every sport that best demonstrates the values of the MASCAC and its Sportsmanship Statement, regardless of their overall performance or statistics for the season.

"I am proud of all 56 student-athletes who are named to the 2019 Fall MASCAC Sportsmanship Team", Commissioner Angela Baumann said. "These student-athletes were selected by their coach for displaying great sportsmanship in and outside the field of competition."

The sports that are represented on the fall team are men's and women's cross country, football, men's golf, men's and women's soccer and volleyball. A student-athlete from each institution is selected by their coach to be placed on the Sportsmanship Team.

Ryan Goldman of Bridgewater State, Tim Sheehy of Fitchburg State, Jaydon Kinuthia of Framingham State, Theodore Jones of MCLA, Doug Cleary of Massachusetts Maritime, Zac Bentley of Westfield State and Ben Morin of Worcester State were named to the Sportsmanship Team from men's cross country.

On this year's Women's Cross Country Sportsmanship Team are Holly DeCourcey of Bridgewater State, Vera Ziegler of Fitchburg State, Bea Donoghue of Framingham State, Hannah Poplawski of MCLA, Catherine O'Brien of Massachusetts Maritime, Andrea Noland of Westfield State and Emily Dickson of Worcester State.

Kicking off the Football Sportsmanship Team are William Watts of Bridgewater State, Drew Ridenour of Fitchburg State, Joshua Smiley of Framingham State, George Lampros of Massachusetts Maritime, Matt Tosone of Plymouth State, Pedro DelToro of UMass Dartmouth, Malik Dawkins of Western Connecticut State, Evan Garvey of Westfield State and Anthony Casparriello of Worcester State.

Men's golf is making its debut on the sportsmanship team this year. Charlie Banks of Dean College, Jimmy Keuther of Eastern Nazarene College, Frankie Murray of Elms College, Michael Izzo of Mitchell College, Nick Bator of MCLA, Maximillian Emmerich of Salem State, Matt Gazaille of Springfield College, Dylan Salk of Westfield State and Jake Poitras of Worcester State are this year's honorees.

Kellie Souza of Bridgewater State, McKenzie Tenney of Fitchburg State, Stephanie Beaumont of Framingham State, Alyssa Porter of MCLA, Emma McNally of Massachusetts Maritime, Rebecca Sabino of Salem State, Gianna Moncecchi of Westfield State and Fiona Weir of Worcester State are the Women's Soccer Sportsmanship Team honorees.

In men's soccer, Joseph Madden Jr. of Bridgewater State, Sean Nugent of Fitchburg State, Isaac De Souza of Framingham State, Nicholas Castle of MCLA, Ben Paine of Massachusetts Maritime, Sean Ward of Salem State, Joey Paier of Westfield State and Vincent DeMattia of Worcester State land on the Sportsmanship Team.

Closing out the 2019 Fall Sportsmanship squads is volleyball where Sydney Rice of Bridgewater State, Jaquelyn Manyak of Fitchburg State, Deirdre Fay of Framingham State, Houa Xiong of MCLA, Michelle Sheehan of Massachusetts Maritime, Morgan Adams of Salem State, Natasha Belardo of Westfield State and Sarah Ward of Worcester State are this year's honorees.

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation's oldest Division III men's and women's playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom. MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University. Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of football and men's ice hockey, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as an affiliate member in football beginning in 2013.