Granito, Quackenbush, and Sistrunk named to MASCAC Spring Sportsmanship Team

Granito, Quackenbush, and Sistrunk named to MASCAC Spring Sportsmanship Team

North Adams, MA- A trio of spring sport student athletes were honored by the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletics Conference (MASCAC) Spring Sportsmanship Teams this afternoon.  Kim Granito (Women's Lacrosse), Erika Quackenbush (Softball), and Dhandray Sistrunk (Baseball) were named to their respective teams.

The MASCAC Sportsmanship Team is intended to recognize one student-athlete from each team, in every sport that best demonstrates the values of the MASCAC and its Sportsmanship Statement, regardless of their overall performance or statistics for the season. A student-athlete from each institution is selected by their coach to be placed on the Sportsmanship Team of the sport in which they compete.

"During this unprecedented spring season, I am proud to recognize these 35 outstanding student-athletes that displayed excellent sportsmanship for their respective teams during this challenging time," Commissioner Angela Baumann said.

The sports that are represented on the spring team are baseball, women's lacrosse, men's and women's outdoor track and field and softball. 

Starting off this year's Spring Sportsmanship teams is baseball. Joey Molis of Bridgewater State, Joseph Powers of Fitchburg State, Bobby Higgins of Framingham State, Dhandray Sistrunk of MCLA, Angus McNeil of Massachusetts Maritime, Madoc Fisher of Salem State, Jake Gibb of Westfield State and Cooper Bigelow of Worcester State make up this year's squad.

The 2020 women's lacrosse honorees are Elise Weber of Bridgewater State, Julia Miele of Fitchburg State, Emily Burnett of Framingham State, Kim Granito of MCLA, Heather Seggelin of Massachusetts Maritime, Casie Curtin of Salem State, Sam Donohoe of Westfield State and Chloe O'Brien of Worcester State. 

For men's outdoor track and field, Spencer Geary of Bridgewater State, Cody Soderlund of Fitchburg State, David Moore of Massachusetts Maritime, Riley Moore of Westfield State and Wayne Carey of Worcester State are this year's honorees.

Women's Outdoor Track and Field is next with Ashley Garvey of Bridgewater State, Chloe Guzman of Fitchburg State, Patrice Haney of Framingham State, Michelle Sheehan of Massachusetts Maritime, Lauren Gilderdale of Westfield State and Elisabeth Olson of Worcester State earning the sportsmanship recognition.

Finishing out this year's Spring Sportsmanship teams is softball with Allison Kuchy of Bridgewater State, Hayley O'Brien of Fitchburg State, Camille Desrochers of Framingham State, Erika Quackenbush of MCLA, Savanna Leite of Massachusetts Maritime, Mikayla Porcaro of Salem State, Alex Czarkowsky of Westfield State and Ally Tocman of Worcester State.