1989-1990 Men's Basketball Team
1989-1990 Men's Basketball Team
Year: 1989-1990

1989-1990 Men’s Basketball Team

The 1989-1990 men’s basketball team was arguably the best team in the campus’ history.  Led by seniors Bernard Alexander, Philip Bledsoe and Andre Washington, they went 23-5, and tied the school record for wins in a season. 

Defense was a staple for the team as they held their opponents to just 63 ppg and had an average margin of victory of thirteen points. The team featured balance and depth, with Rodney Stephens, K.J. Wallace and Tony Paranto all key cogs as they finished 11-1 in MASCAC play. They advanced all the way to the elite eight in the NCAA tournament before losing a three-point game to eventual national champion Rochester University.

The team had several impressive wins during the season including victories over Division 1 Central Connecticut State and Division 2 power Bridgeport University. The team also beat Williams and topped Salem State twice, the final time in the MASCAC Championship game on the road. The 1990 NCAA tournament culminated an incredible four year run for North Adams State; one that saw the team make the NCAA tournament each season.

The team was coached by Al Sokaitis, who at the time was in his third season.  Team members include:

Alexander, Bledsoe, Washington, Stephens, Wallace, Paranto, Patrick Conley, Lee DeRouin, Bobby Hamilton, Richard Marjanski, Douglas Terry, Kevin Talty, and David Mendoza.