Lawrence named second team All NAC

Lawrence named second team All NAC

North Adams, MA- MCLA golfer Matt Lawrence was named a second team all conference (NAC) selection as announced by the league offices this afternoon.  Lawrence finished T-9th this past weekend at the 36 hole conference championships.

Lawrence's teammate Josh Fortier was named to the All NAC sportsmanship team as well.

After carding the lowest score at the 2016 NAC Men's Golf Championship, Husson sophomore Daulton Wickenden (Rockport, Maine) claimed the NAC Golfer of the Year honor, while Johnson State sophomore Austin Walters (Grantham N.H.) earned Rookie of the Year accolades. Maine Maritime's Luke Olson(Charleston, Maine) was tabbed the Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year, UMaine-Farmington head coach Bob Timmins was voted the Coach of the Year, and eight men's golf student-athletes were selected to the Sportsmanship Team to headline the 2016 All-Conference announcement.

The Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year and the Coach of the Year awards were determined by a vote of the league's coaches.

Joining Wickenden on the All-Conference First Team were Husson sophomore teammates Mackenzie Clow (Summerside, Prince Edward Island) and Philip Thome (Blythe, Calif.), Castleton senior Zachary Temple (Hartland, Vt.), UMaine-Farmington sophomore Eric Aguiar (Thornton, N.H.), and Salem State senior Chad Alibozek (Adams, Mass.).

Second team honorees included Husson sophomore Taylor Morang (Winthrop, Maine), Johnson State sophomore Kiley Moody (Wolcott, Vt.), Maine Maritime sophomore Erich Klopfer (Palm Harbor, Fla.), MCLA junior Matt Lawrence (Stamford, Vt.), and Salem State junior Ryan Swart (Bridgewater, Mass.). 

For the 2016 NAC Men's Golf Championship release, please click HERE.

The NAC Men's Golf Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the men's golf culture and environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the golf playing rules and etiquette. The following eight individuals have been selected to the 2016 Sportsmanship Team, Castleton's Temple, UMaine-Farmington senior Trevor Hisler (Skowhegan, Maine), Green Mountain senior Dakota Dodson (St. Augustine, Fla.), Husson's Morang, Johnson State's Moody, Maine Maritime junior Chase Whittemore (Skowhegan, Maine), MCLA freshman Josh Fortier (Pittsfield, Mass.), and Salem State's Swart. 

2016 NAC Men's Golf All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team, please click HERE.  

First Team

Eric Aguiar, Sophomore, UMaine-Farmington 
Chad Alibozek, Senior, Salem State 
Mackenzie Clow, Sophomore, Husson 
Zachary Temple, Senior, Castleton 
Philip Thome, Sophomore, Husson 
Daulton Wickenden, Sophomore, Husson 

Second Team

Erich Klopfer, Sophomore, Maine Maritime 
Matt Lawrence, Junior, MCLA 
Kiley Moody, Sophomore, Johnson State 
Taylor Morang, Sophomore, Husson 
Ryan Swart, Junior, Salem State 

Golfer of the Year
Daulton Wickenden, Sophomore, Husson

Rookie of the Year
Austin Walters, Sophomore, Johnson State

Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year

Luke Olson, Senior, Maine Maritime

Coach of the Year

Bob Timmins, 14th Season, UMaine-Farmington

Sportsmanship Team

Dakota Dodson, Senior, Green Mountain
Josh Fortier, Freshman, MCLA 
Trevor Hisler, Senior, UMaine-Farmington 
Kiley Moody, Sophomore, Johnson State
Taylor Morang, Sophomore, Husson
Ryan Swart, Junior, Salem State
Zachary Temple, Senior, Castleton 
Chase Whittemore, Junior, Maine Maritime 

PLEASE NOTE: All-Conference teams are comprised of the medalist, plus the next ten finishers at the conference championship.