Golf competes at Brett Williamson Invitational hosted by Westfield State

Golf competes at Brett Williamson Invitational hosted by Westfield State

Westfield, Mass. – Westfield State senior Ryan Koczela (Bridgewater, Mass.) won a three-man playoff to claim the individual title, and led the Owls to the team title at the 2nd Annual Brett Williamson '11 Invitational Tournament at Tekoa Country Club.  MCLA finished seventh in the field as they competed in their second event of 2018.

Koczela carded a four-over par 75, to tie with Eastern Nazarene's Michael Dietz and Northern Vermont University – Johnson's Austin Walters.

On the first playoff hole, Tekoa's par-4 10th, Koczela striped an iron to the 150-yard marker, and knocked his second shot pin high, 27 feet right of the flag.

Walters' second shot found the front left trap, while Dietz's second shot skipped off the back of the green.

Koczela rolled his birdie putt to 24 inches and tapped in for par to seal the victory.

MCLA was led by Reese Dwyer's 81.  Bobby New was next with an 86.  Also competing for the Trailblazers were Gabe Evans, Hunter Woodbury, and Matt Hartigan

The Westfield "Blue" team claimed the team title with a score of 318, one stroke better than their compatriots from the Westfield "White" team.   NVU-Johnson carded a team total of 320 for third.

Matteo Godek (Agawam, Mass.) (79), Nick Eliopolous (Lynnfield, Mass.) (81) and Garrett Desmond (83) rounded out the Owls blue team scoring.

Michael Waldman (Billerica, Mass.) led Westfield blue with a round of 78.

The tournament is named after Williamson, a former Owls golfer who passed away in the summer of 2017 after a long and courageous battle with Cystic Fibrosis.


Team Scores

Westfield State  (Blue)                   318
Westfield State  (White )               319
Northern Vermont – Johnson         320
Worcester State                            321
Eastern Nazarene                         336
Rhode Island College                    357
MCLA                                            365
Albertus Magnus                          417