Basile named MASCAC player of the year, first men's soccer player since 1992 to earn award

Basile named MASCAC player of the year, first men's soccer player since 1992 to earn award

2016 Men's Soccer All Conference Team

North Adams, MA- MCLA senior midfielder Anthony Basile has been named the 2016 Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletics Conference (MASCAC) player of the year the league announced today.  The vote is conducted by members of the league's coaching staff.

Basile is the first MCLA men's soccer player since Dave Pereira in 1992 to claim the conference's top honor.  The East Longmeadow, MA native is no stranger to the all conference team as he's been a selection in all three of his seasons at MCLA.

Jason Willis of Worcester State was selected by his peers as the MASCAC Coach of the Year while Fitchburg State's Matthew Krikorian was tabbed as the rookie of the year.

Basile was a second team selection the last two years as a Trailblazer before breaking out as a senior.  He led the league with 10 goals and 22 points on the season.  Basile notched a pair of assists on the season as well.

He notched three game winning goals and tallied a career best four goal effort in a convincing win over Albertus Magnus on October 25th.  Basile potted three goals in league play as he tallied against Westfield State, Worcester State, and Fitchburg State.

While he may not have scored the majority of his goals in the league, Basile did take a league leading 65 shots, including 41 over the course of his seven league games.  His 65 shots on the season easily outdistances Framingham's Ken Stahovish who notched 52 attempts in four additional games played than Basile.

Joining Basile on the 2016 MASCAC First Team is Bridgewater State's Filipe Gomes, Fitchburg State's Steven Martinez, Framingham State's Simon Appiah, MCLA's Anthony Basile and Edward Boateng, Massachusetts Maritime's Scott Matoian, Matthew McDonough and Mick Rouette and Worcester State's Jason Barrett and Matthew Dent.

Landing on the 2016 MASCAC Second Team is Bridgewater State's Sawyer Fleck, Kane Moran and Jonathan Pires, Fitchburg State's Nick Masley, Framingham State's Johance Liverpool and Ken Stahovish, Massachusetts Maritime's Adam Crawford. Brendan Gawron and Mike Pruchnik, Westfield State's Kory McGilvray and Worcester State's George Siotis.