Goldsmith, Wabshinak repeat as All NAC performers in Men's Tennis

Goldsmith, Wabshinak repeat as All NAC performers in Men's Tennis

2017 All NAC Men's Tennis Team

North Adams, MA- The North Atlantic Conference (NAC) has announced their 2017 All Conference team in Men's Tennis.  The MCLA duo of Aaron Goldsmith and Rob Wabshinak were selected as all conference players in both singles and doubles competition.

MCLA was well represented on the team as head coach Trevor Grimshaw was named Coach of the Year and senior Jeffrey Mason was tabbed as the senior scholar athlete of the year.  Jack Peterson was named to the sportsmanship team as well.

The honors are nothing new for Goldsmith and Wabshinak.  Both competitors have been named All Conference every year while in a Trailblazer uniform.  Goldsmith was tabbed as a first team all conference selection as a singles player while Wabshinak earned second team honors.  The duo were named second team all conference in doubles play as partners.

Goldsmith went 5-4 during the regular season in singles play and was 3-3 in conference action playing out of the top spot.  He earned wins against Lyndon State, Johnson State, and Green Mountain.  Goldsmith was a second team performer as a freshman and a first teamer as a sophomore.

Wabshinak makes the All Conference team for the fourth straight season.  As a senior, he also went 5-4 overall and sported a 3-3 conference mark.  Wabshinak also yielded singles victories over Lyndon State, Green Mountain, and Johnson State.  

As a doubles pairing, they went 4-5 overall and 3-3 in conference play.  They were staples in the MCLA lineup as the top doubles pairing.  

Goldsmith and Wabshinak have led MCLA back into the postseason which begins on Saturday.  The Trailblazers will take on the top seeded Colby Sawyer Chargers at 11am with the winner advancing to the NAC championship match.

2017 NAC East Division Men's Tennis All-Conference Teams

First Team Singles

Dean Boodakian, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
Ryan Chasse, Freshman, Thomas            
Aaron Goldsmith, Junior, MCLA
Gustav Jigrup, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
Seth Marcil, Senior, Castleton
Alex Wright, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer 

First Team Doubles

Colby-Sawyer - Dean Boodakian, Senior / Ryan Sawyer, Senior
Colby-Sawyer - Gustav Jigrup, Junior / Alex Wright, Sophomore
Thomas - Ryan Chasse, Freshman / Zachary Disch, Junior 

Second Team Singles

Quentin Barthe, Senior, Castleton
Zachary Disch, Junior, Thomas  
Ryan Mulder, Junior, Castleton
Kei Sako, Sophomore, Green Mountain
Ryan Sawyer, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
Robert Wabshinak, Senior, MCLA 

Second Team Doubles

Castleton - Quentin Barthe, Junior / Seth Marcil, Senior
MCLA - Aaron Goldsmith, Junior / Robert Wabshinak, Senior
Thomas - Kaleb Payson, Freshman / Jared Waterhouse, Freshman 

Player of the Year

Gustav Jigrup, Junior, Colby-Sawyer

Rookie of the Year

Ryan Chasse, Freshman, Thomas

Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year

Jeffrey Mason, Senior, MCLA

Coach of the Year

Trevor Grimshaw, 3rd season, MCLA 

Sportsmanship Team

Ryan Broderick, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
Ryan Chasse, Freshman, Thomas
Tyler Hall, Senior, Lyndon
Seth Marcil, Senior, Castleton
Jack Peterson, Sophomore, MCLA
Brady Rainville, Senior, Johnson State
Eric Wade, Senior, Green Mountain